Duncan's blog

September 28, 2013

Peerie Shop Café

Filed under: Coffee — duncan @ 2:55 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

P1020982-001Ever since I can remember the Peerie Shop has been in Lerwick.  “Peerie” is a commonly-used Shetland dialect word for “small”, and is derived from the Norn language that used to be spoken here but died out about 100 years ago.

I vaguely remember the shop being in other premises years ago (correct me if I’m wrong, Shetlanders), and it was definitely very small, but is now in a larger building.  The shop itself sells a random selection of books, kitchenware, clothes, cards and gifts.  And it also has an adjoining café on two floors, simply known as the Peerie Shop Café.

This is the best place for coffee that I know of in Shetland, although I can’t claim to have tried everywhere.  There used to be another coffee shop just round the corner, Karibuni, that also did roasting and grinding, and was run as a social enterprise.  I’d assume they’d also have done a good coffee but unfortunately it closed down due to cuts in funding from the council.  However a new café, ‘Coffee and Keetchin‘ has recently opened on the same site, but I haven’t had the chance to try it yet.

But I always know the Peerie Shop Café is a safe choice for a good coffee or tea.  It’s the most likely place to get a properly made flat white, chai latte, etc.  They also do a range of homemade cakes, sandwiches etc.  I try and make a visit here each time I’m up in Shetland.

They have a signed picture on the wall from cartoonist Steven Appleby, thanking them for their lovely coffee… I suspect he does these wherever he goes to get a free caffeine fix!

P1020983IMG_8295 P1000564 P1020981 P1000757P1000754 P1020984P1000755     P1020985P1000753

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

